me, thinking out loud…

Restoring GRUB with Grub2

2010-08-10 Tue 19:44

It’s a one liner with grub2.

$ sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mount/point/of/root/ /dev/sdX

where sdX is sda,sdb,.. depending on which hard-drive it is on.

This is the first instance when I found grub2 to be better than grub.

Comments on: "Restoring GRUB with Grub2" (2)

  1. grub-install is a legacy, there are even plans of removing it. I read about it somewhere today that it will be replaced by better alternatives. I don’t know what they are, but one thing I know for sure. I have been using grub-install long before(say from Fedora Core 3 days) I realized that grub shell can be used in Ubuntu.

    I somehow find grub shell more evolved than grub-install since it lets me find where my grub is actually installed than grub-install which assumes I already know where my grub is installed which may be deceptive at times.

    But still grub2 sucks big time according to me ;-)

    • I’m a big fan of the grub shell, too.
      But, with grub2, I’m not very comfortable using the grub shell. So, I found grub-install useful. :P
      I didn’t know it was legacy. I never used it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

